I want UMAI!

Standard

I’ve been craving for umai since last month.

Umai - A Close-up

Umai - A Close-up

It’s been a few years since I last ate umai and that’s how long I’ve not been home to see Nenek a.k.a my grandma.

But they say that it’s not advisable to eat raw food when you’re expecting.  Oh darn … what to do?  The yearning is so great that I’ve eaten half boiled eggs a few times by now.

So how do I find the right and the freshest fish to make umai?  I’m imagining going to the market in the wee hours of the morning to buy fish 😛  It won’t happen if I’m gonna depend on Izam to take me there.  Hehehe …

Oh, you might be wondering what umai is.  Umai is a dish made of raw white fish.  The fish is filleted and sliced thinly.  Then, its mixed with sliced onions and chilies, lime juice (or asam paya), and salt to taste.  They say it’ll taste better if they are all mixed with your hand, instead of using a spoon.  It’s the heat from the hand, they say, that makes it tastier.  So, it’s up to the individual which ever way to do it.  Then, the last step is to keep it in the fridge for about an hour or so before serving.  We eat umai either with rice or sago.  Yummy!  I’m drooling already!  Hehehe …

About kawiz

A working mother turned stay-at-home mom, who is managing her two toddlers and her twin babies on her own. As like any parent, she wants to provide the quality of life to her boys. To make ends meet, she's thinking of setting up an online business. Five years has passed, her business more focused on making local delicacies, be it malay or chinese delicacies. Her western cakes and desserts are popular among customers too.

Leave a Reply

