My Brand New Breastpump

Standard

Last week, at the very last minute, hubby and I went out to buy a new breastpump set before I start work the next day.  We went to 2 stores and they were closed.  By 9.30pm, we reached Twins store located next to Centrepoint, Bandar Utama.  Luckily, they were open.

I chose the Spectra 3 breastpump.  In 2006, I tried using the so-called ancient industrial-like breastpump when I was admitted to the hospital for a minor surgery.  It was huge and heavy and it was placed on a trolley to move it about.  The cover was transparent that you can see the mechanicals moving when switched on.  I used it for 3 days and I was amazed with the amount of breast milk it could express, unlike the Medela pump that I had at home then.  And Spectra is somewhat similar to that breastpump.

Since then, I knew that I wanted to get the Spectra pump.  After my Medela pump breaks down, that is.

Spectra 3 breast pump (image taken from srisuri.com)

So now, I have my Spectra pump and I just love it.  At work, I express milk every 2-3 hours (usually 2 hours) for 10-15 minutes on each breast.  On the first day, I manage to fill up six 5 oz.-bottles in less than 30 minutes.  Today, I don’t get that much milk out.  I guess it’s got to do with the amount of rest/sleep I get.  Since I started work, I don’t get the rest/sleep that I need and this has affected milk supply.  Last weekend, I was watching Kimora’s program and she just delivered a baby boy named Kenzo.  When she was expressing, she was rambling about being calm and meditation.  Now, I know that I need to be relaxed when expressing.  No wonder it’s quite difficult to get much of the milk out lately.

About kawiz

A working mother turned stay-at-home mom, who is managing her two toddlers and her twin babies on her own. As like any parent, she wants to provide the quality of life to her boys. To make ends meet, she's thinking of setting up an online business. Five years has passed, her business more focused on making local delicacies, be it malay or chinese delicacies. Her western cakes and desserts are popular among customers too.

Leave a Reply

