A bird nest

Standard

I’ve been trying to extract pictures out of my phone camera to the computer so I can upload new posts to this blog.  Finally, I could do it.  Otherwise, I can only get the images from the additional memory card in the phone.  This afternoon, I could access the phone storage.  Hooray!

So on with my post for today …

Last week, as I was looking out of the kitchen window, I noticed a small brown bird was hiding within a pot of orchids that my mom had planted years ago.

I kept watching.  Then, I got thinking.  There is a reason why this bird is in that pot for a long time.

After the bird left, I went out to take a look.  The pot is hung rather high and I couldn’t look inside.  So, I got my phone camera and took a picture.  True enough, there are two little eggs lying inside a nest!

Wow … this is a first for me.  Usually, when I found a nest around the house, they have been abandoned.  No eggs …

Anyway, what I wanted to say is although this home is smack in the city centre, it’s still really close to nature.  For instance, when we first arrived in January, I noticed a family of wild birds are living among the bushes of lemongrass and another plant, which the leaves are used for women’s confinement. Two adult birds with their 4 hatchlings.  The little ones are black all over.  This reminds me of the ugly duckling that grew into a swan story 🙂  Now, the hatchlings have grown to young birds like their parents.

Back to the two eggs in the nest.  I can’t wait to see the eggs hatch.  Once they hatch, I hope the mother bird won’t mind if I take a picture of the hatchlings.

About kawiz

A working mother turned stay-at-home mom, who is managing her two toddlers and her twin babies on her own. As like any parent, she wants to provide the quality of life to her boys. To make ends meet, she's thinking of setting up an online business. Five years has passed, her business more focused on making local delicacies, be it malay or chinese delicacies. Her western cakes and desserts are popular among customers too.

One response »

  1. Pingback: More bird eggs « Kawiz's Blog

Leave a Reply

