Stomach flu; a remedy

Standard

It’s been more than a week since my first boy started having stomach flu (my earlier post on stomach flu is here).  Now, Zayed and Zayan are better, though the twins are still purging.

Boy, oh boy … I can tell you there were a lot of cleaning and washing going on … every day!  It is a handful when it’s just me doing the cleaning and washing and four kids doing the ‘mess’.  This is very memorable for me … hahaha.

There isn’t much we could do for the boys and babies, except giving them liquids and more liquids, especially when they kept throwing up because that’s when they can’t eat and keep the food down.  I give my older boys 100 plus, while the babies drink hydration salt solution.  I stopped giving them milk and anything that contains lactose, though I still breastfeed my babies.  Lately, food is very much bland.  Mostly, bananas, toasted bread, rice porridge, rice crackers and rusks for the babies and toasted bread with a favorite spread and plain rice with fish and egg for the older boys.

Zayed can be very fussy.  He would refuse to eat anything and that’s when I have to entice him with pizza, beefburger from McDonald’s, chicken from KFC, and french fries.  Otherwise, the last option is to let him have some bag of chips!  It happened twice before when he had to be admitted to the hospital.  He kept throwing up and nothing goes in.  He won’t eat nor drink.  It got very serious when he was dehydrated and was running very high fever.  He became very, very weak.

I learned the lesson the hard way.  If he can’t eat or drink, give him something that he loves i.e. fast food and sweet sodas.  The important thing is not him eating and drinking right, but him to at least eat and drink something.

One other important thing is to get them to rest, rest and rest.  I know with toddlers, they just won’t.  So, you have got to force them to sleep.  That;s the only way to get them to rest.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Stomach flu « Kawiz's Blog

Leave a Reply

