R.I.P – Hjh. Salamah Lee

Standard

At 5.20am yesterday, my beloved paternal grandmother passed away in her home in Balingian.  My aunt and cousins were by her side.  I miss her dreadfully.  She was 89.

Again, I am not there for the funeral and kenduri.  I almost got on the express bus with my brother, bringing the kids along.  Then, after some thoughts and discussion with hubby and brother, it was best that I didn’t go.  *sigh*  They said taking the kids on the bus and being on it all through the night is just scary …

I am so disappointed in myself for not able to visit her the past three years.  I’m afraid I had a lot of excuses that made me rethink of my plans to visit her in Balingian:  work, small children, travel budget, no one accompanying me on the trip, etc.  I should be ashamed of myself.  Regretting now is useless …

She was a strong woman.  My grandfather passed away more than 35 years ago.  I think I was about 3 or 4 years old.  He suffered from TB.

She had a stroke some years ago.  With traditional massages and traditional herbal medication, she recovered slowly.  She could move and walked again.

Lately, she started to forget things … sometimes she would forget that she has showered, eaten, etc.

I hope I’m able to go back to Balingian soon for my aunt’s makan hol 100 days and my grandmother’s makan hol 20 days early next month.  Insya’allah … That’s my plan with my brother for the moment.

I pray to Allah that my grandmother and my aunt happy and well-taken care of with Him.

Al-fatihah …

About kawiz

A working mother turned stay-at-home mom, who is managing her two toddlers and her twin babies on her own. As like any parent, she wants to provide the quality of life to her boys. To make ends meet, she's thinking of setting up an online business. Five years has passed, her business more focused on making local delicacies, be it malay or chinese delicacies. Her western cakes and desserts are popular among customers too.

Leave a Reply

